Unifying Concepts

British Hypertension Society Classification of Blood Pressure Levels (BHS-IV)

This classification equates with that of the European Society of Hypertension (ESH) and that of World Health Organization/ International Society of Hypertension (WHO/ISH), and is based on clinic blood pressure values. If systolic blood pressure and diastolic blood pressure fall into different categories, the higher value should be taken for classification.

Category Systolic blood pressure (mmHg) Diastolic blood pressure (mmHg)
Optimal blood pressure <120 <80
Normal blood pressure <130 <85
High-normal blood pressure 130-139 85-89
Grade 1 hypertension (mild) 140-159 90-99
Grade 2 hypertension (moderate) 160-179 100-109
Grade 3 hypertension (severe) >/= 180 >/= 110
Isolated systolic hypertension (Grade 1) 140-159 <90
Isolated systolic hypertension (Grade 2) >/= 160 <90



  1. Duerden MG; British Hypertension Society. Guidelines from the British Hypertension Society: BHS is set to bankrupt NHS. BMJ. 2004 Sep 4;329(7465):569-70 [Medline]
  2. Williams B, Poulter NR, Brown MJ, Davis M, McInnes GT, Potter JF, Sever PS, Thom SM; BHS guidelines working party, for the British Hypertension Society. British Hypertension Society guidelines for hypertension management 2004 (BHS-IV): summary. BMJ. 2004 Mar 13;328(7440):634-40. [Medline]


Created: Abr 13, 2005

  • Language:

  • Users Online

  • Medical Disclaimer

    El contenido de este sitio web son solo para fines informativos y no reemplazan la consulta con un profesional médico.
  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Copyright by