Unifying Concepts

NYHA Functional Classification for Congestive Heart Failure

The New York Heart Association (NYHA) Functional Classification provides a simple way of classifying heart disease (originally cardiac failure), useful for preoperative assessment. It places patients in one of four categories, based on how much they are limited during physical activity:

  • Class I: patients with no limitation of activities; they suffer no symptoms from ordinary activities.
  • Class II: patients with slight, mild limitation of activity; they are comfortable with rest or with mild exertion.
  • Class III: patients with marked limitation of activity; they are comfortable only at rest.
  • Class IV: patients who should be at complete rest, confined to bed or chair; any physical activity brings on discomfort and symptoms occur at rest.


  1. Hurst JW, Morris DC, Alexander RW. The use of the New York Heart Association’s classification of cardiovascular disease as part of the patient’s complete Problem List. Clin Cardiol. 1999 Jun;22(6):385-90. [Medline]


Created: Apr 21, 2005

  • Language:

  • Users Online

  • Medical Disclaimer

    El contenido de este sitio web son solo para fines informativos y no reemplazan la consulta con un profesional médico.
  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Copyright by